How Is This Supposed to Work?

I have a lot for you today so settle in.

Free books?

Yes.

Free stories?

Got those too.

Sample of brand new series?

Oh yeah!

Plus, some free audiobooks on Youtube, and a couple of things just to light the fire in your brain and get you stoked for 2023.

I was going to share some plans with you too, just to let you know you weren’t alone.

But then I saw a vlog podcast with a Seal and I decided to share that instead.

In it, he talked about planning and the hold up.

He said he was the hold up.

Because he was a breacher, the guy who sneaks up to their entry point and sets a custom charge to blow open a door, or a hole in the wall, or to make a way for the rest of the team to get the job done.

He said the operation didn’t start until he was done with part one.

And part one was the most important part, because it was where the rubber met the road.

Where the most elite and highly trained fighting unit in the world discovered if any plan survived contact with the enemy.

He set the charge, moved back, double checked with the Team Leader to give him a nod, and then he set the wheels in motion with three little words.

“Execute. Execute. Execute.”

Or one word screamed thrice.

Then, and only then, did the action start.

He tied it in to most people, and I fall into this category a lot of times.

We are great at planning.

At wishing and wanting and hoping and dreaming.

But we gotta wake up every day and scream three words.

Execute.

Execute.

Execute.

Then get cracking on taking massive action.

I tried it this morning.

Leslie told me to shut up and asked what the hell was I doing screaming at 5 in the morning.

Which is how the rest of the world is going to react to you taking any sort of action to making you better, or it better or things better.

Like a game of verbal whack a mole.

Stick you head through the breach and get it smacked.

That’s what the training is for.

That’s why you go over the plan, revise the plan, and work the plan.

So you know what to do when the chaos starts.

Little if/then scenarios.

Because there will be chaos and deviations and upsets and distractions.

I can say this like it’s a universal truth, because I have been “planning” to go to the gym since 1/15.

But last week, a disc slipped doing something stupid, so I just sat.

Then work interfered and I was “tired.”

Then my important work (writing) seemed more important than lifting heavy so I spent time with it.

Plus house work.

And sleep.

And little time for anything else with twelve hour days killing most of my motivation.

Which is why the vlog struck home.

Sometimes we execute on the wrong things.

Working to make someone else money, or living someone else’s life.

The great thing about recognition is knowing it’s okay to adjust and get back on plan.

To return to the original mission.

So I’m executing today.

And I encourage you to get after it too.

Whatever your it might be.

Leave a comment